Top 8 State Senators from Clark County - 8 News NOW

Top 8 State Senators from Clark County

Posted: Updated:

Thanks in part to term limits there are usually plenty of new faces every time the Nevada Legislature convenes a new session.

The 77th regular session of the Legislature, which began Monday, is no exception. Of the 21 lawmakers will vote in the state Senate, eight are new members representing Clark County districts.

Here are thumbnail sketches of all eight of those legislators, each of whom are serving four-year terms through the general election in 2016.

Kelvin Atkinson, Democrat -- The District 4 senator from North Las Vegas is already familiar with Carson City, having served in the Assembly from 2003 until his election to the Senate last November. The 43-year-old Atkinson, who was born in Chicago and attended UNLV and Howard University, is a Clark County government management analyst. He chairs the Senate Commerce, Labor and Energy Committee and also serves on the transportation and legislative operations and elections committees. In addition to reading, studying politics and traveling, Atkinson roots for the Oakland Raiders and Los Angeles Lakers.

Aaron Ford, Democrat -- Born in 1972, the Dallas native attended Texas A&M, George Washington and Ohio State universities. He initially served as a public school math teacher before becoming an attorney, practicing law as a partner at Snell & Wilmer in Las Vegas. Ford chairs the Senate Natural Resources Committee and also sits on the education and judiciary committees. The District 11 senator enjoys travel and has served on the board of the Las Vegas Urban Chamber of Commerce.

Scott Hammond, Republican -- The Syracuse, N.Y., native, born in 1966, represents District 18 in Las Vegas. A UNLV graduate, Hammond teaches government and Spanish in the Clark County School District and political science at UNLV. He serves on the Senate government affairs and judiciary committees. Hammond coaches basketball, softball and youth soccer and is a founding member of the Somerset Academy of Las Vegas.

Mark Hutchison, Republican -- Born in Las Vegas in 1963, Hutchison represents District 6 in Las Vegas. A graduate of UNLV who earned his law degree at Brigham Young University, Hutchison is an attorney at Hutchison & Steffen. He serves on the Senate judiciary and commerce, labor and energy committees. Hutchison enjoys hiking, reading, running and writing, and serves on the executive board of Boy Scouts of America's Las Vegas Area Council.

Justin Jones, Democrat -- The District 9 senator from Las Vegas was born in 1974 in Granada Hills, Calif., and attended Brigham Young and George Washington universities. He works as an attorney at Holland & Hart, where he is a partner. The chairman of the Senate Health and Human Services Committee, Jones also serves on the judiciary and commerce, labor and energy committees. He is an avid runner and cyclist who once served on the board of United Way of Southern Nevada.

Tick Segerblom, Democrat -- A member of the Assembly for the past three legislative sessions, attorney Segerblom joins the upper chamber as a representative of District 3 in Las Vegas. Born in 1948 in Boulder City, Segerblom attended Pomona College before earning his law degree at the University of Denver. He chairs the Senate Judiciary Committee and also sits on the natural resources and health and human services committees. His affiliations include the Legal Aid Center of Southern Nevada, Neon Museum and Clark County Historic Preservation Society.

Pat Spearman, Democrat -- Born in Indianapolis in 1955, the North Las Vegas resident represents District 1. An ordained minister and retired soldier, Spearman attended Norfolk State University and is completing a doctorate in business administration at Walden University. She chairs the Senate Legislative Operations and Elections Committee and also serves on the government affairs and transportation committees. Spearman likes to travel and also enjoys reading and playing and listening to music.

Joyce Woodhouse, Democrat -- Woodhouse, who represents District 5, is the only lawmaker on this list who served in the Senate before but she is considered a new member because two years have passed since her initial term ended. Born in 1944 in Wibaux, Mont., and educated at Carroll College and UNLV, Woodhouse embarked on a career as a teacher and elementary school principal. The Henderson resident is chairwoman of the Senate Education Committee and also sits on the finance and commerce, labor and energy committees. Her hobbies include reading, golf and volunteer work.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KLAS. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.